• Pia Hellenthal receives Gerd Ruge grant for "Searching Eva"

  • CINEMATCH Spotlight Docfilm - project presentation at achtung berlin

  • CINEMATCH Spotlight Docfilm - project presentation at Max Ophüls Preis

  • Award for Rita Bakacs' "Work For One Day" at DOK Leipzig 2015

  • CINEMATCH script and project development

CINEMATCH Berlin – founded in 2012 – is an independent program and a network initiative in support of filmmakers. Between 2012 and 2015 we have opened up a space that - beyond premature compromises - has enabled filmmakers to develop their feature and documentary film projects more efficiently.

Within the frame of our script and project development programs we collaborated over 3 years together with 30 filmmakers from the independent scene. We are particularly proud by the complementation of Rita Bakac's 'Work For One Day' (premiere DOK Leipzig 2015 and winner of the Healthy Workplaces Film Award), Pia Hellenthal’s 'Searching Eva' (Gerd Ruge scholarship 2016; premiere Berlinale 2019),Valentin Riedl’s 'Lost in Face' (Wim Wenders scholarship 2015; premiere Max Ophüls Preis 2020) and Lin Sternal’s 'Perro' (FFA script grant 2016; premiere Berlinale 2020).

A special thanks goes to our fellow friends and partners without whose support our program and our events would not have been possible and who have built up jointly with us a like-minded network during the last years.

These include: Gabriella Bandel (Filmfestival Max Ophüls Preis), Ole Böttcher und Aline Bonvin (filmArche e.V.), Sebastian Böhm (DCP Manufaktur), Sebastian Brose und Hajo Schäfer (achtung berlin), Gabriele Brunnenmeyer (Kuratorium junger deutscher Film), Susanne Dzeik (AG Dok), Fabian Gasmia (Detail Film), Leo Grün, Martin Hagemann (zero fiction film), Martin Heisler (Lichtblick Film), Kaman Sardar Khan (Camino Filmverleih), Jonas Knudsen und Roman Avianus (25p Media Group), Grit Lemke (DOK Leipzig), Claudia Messemer, Sirkka Möller (Berlinale Talents), Charlie Möller-Naß, Carolin Otto, Ines Schiller und Golo Schultz (FOGMA), Nico Sommer, Karsten Stöter (rohfilm), Sung-hyung Cho, Serpil Turhan, Radek Wegrzyn, Jan Zabeil.

CINEMATCH Berlin are: Luca Borkowsky, Cathy de Haan and Linda Kirmse.